DEALING with LACK OF MOTIVATION. Music stuff. Help plz

Firedwarf

sock puppet
Oct 14, 2002
Michigan
Visit site
I'll just get right to it.

The past three or four weeks I've been REALLY uninspired when it comes to bass stuff.

Like, I have trouble picking up the instrument. And when I do I sigh and look at it and think "what the hell are you doing.."

It doesn't feel like I'm going anywhere with it. Almost all I've been doing for the past two years is theory and theory and theory. A LOT moreso lately, like the past six months.

I don't know. I feel really lame because my teacher gave me three weeks (weekly lessons, but we haven't seen each other in three weeks because of Thanksgiving and I was moving and blah blah) to get some really simpleish stuff down and I haven't done it.

I really.. don't know. It doesn't feel like I'm going anywhere and it's frustrating. I'm going to tell him all this today and see what he says.

Also I'm not playing with any other musicians around here because I don't really get along.. uh.. creatively with them. So basically all I do is sit around and do theory junk. I haven't tried writing anything on my own.

And I'm asking here because some of are (IMO) accomplished musicians so HELP! thanks! whew. I have to go to lessons now!

i think it is really just the nature of being a musician and wanting to explore your instrument while at the same time an outside force is trying to regement your musicianship(i don't mean that in a bad way towards your teacher by the way).

i know theory always did that to me as well. i remember my sophomore year i went home for christmas break and didn't touch my guitar for the entire month. i didn't even feel motivated to look at it.