Double-Quad tracking guitars?

cundalini

New Metal Member
Jan 25, 2009
Im new to recording so bear with me. When you guys double-quad track guitars are you actually recording the same thing 2-4 times? I ask this cause I seem to be having a problem syncing everything together. Also there's a feature in Reaper that allows you to duplicate a chosen track which seems MUCH easier but maybe Im unaware of why I wouldnt want to do this?

Im new to recording so bear with me. When you guys double-quad track guitars are you actually recording the same thing 2-4 times?
Yes
I ask this cause I seem to be having a problem syncing everything together.
You need to rehearse your playing so that you can play tight enough.
Also there's a feature in Reaper that allows you to duplicate a chosen track which seems MUCH easier but maybe Im unaware of why I wouldnt want to do this?
You don't want to do that because it is not even remotely the same thing as multiple performances. It won't sound good, since the sum of the two tracks is the same as just having a single performance in the middle (mono). It won't make the sound nice and wide, like proper multitracking does.

There is no substitute for good, tight playing. When I first started recording, I was under the impression that I could just duplicate the tracks in the recording software like you mentioned, but I was informed by a friend that it's actually the little inconsistencies in your playing between the different tracks, that give it that nice thick chunky sound you're looking for.

Something else you'll want to look out for too...the more tracks you have, the less gain you'll want on your guitars when tracking them, because the gain layers up onto of itself and everything will turn to much, so a good general rule is to have the gain set so you can still hear the thud of your palm mutes and still be able to play well, and no more than that.

Hope that helps...