Quad tracking guitars

Imbow

May 17, 2010
Hey!

So I have been messing around with some quad tracking. I have panned them L100-L80 and R100-R80 but I get some strange interferings. Can anyone help me with this problem? Im pretty new to all this mixing and stuff, but I think it could be several things. Im playing the exact same riff on all 4 tracks, but I have of course not just copy pasted the tracks. So it could be the frequency range or because I use same amp sim and impulses? How can I make the guitars not interfering with each other?

- Imbow

What do you mean by the buildup? and the only way to fix this problem is by getting a better processor/audio interface for lower latency then?

i think he referes to frequency buildup at some points which creates a mess...

to get things staight, do you use the same recording on 4 tracks or record 4 different times the same parts?

is it wise to record the same part twice?

He said he recorded 4 seperate takes. And thats what you want to do. When quad tracking you play the same riff and record it 4 seperate times. Same as dual tracking only you're doing it twice instead of 4 times.

Also OP, make sure that your timing is practically dead on, on all 4 tracks, otherwise you'll hear some problems too.

And as far as latency, you could try and adjust your buffer setting, 512 or lower and you should be ok.

Ok, but how do I fix it then? Should I change the amp sim settings slightly or do some EQ on each track? I have recorded 4 different times the same part.

Nobody will know unless you post a clip and let the people around here judge it. Use drop box, you can set it up here. If you use that link, then both of us gets 250mb more space in the boxes. But dropbox is the norm around here for uploading songs and stuff.