Drum editing: Elastic Audio, slip edit, Beat Detective?

Heabow

More cowbell!
Aug 24, 2011
France
First of all, merry xmas to ya'll!

I used Elastic Audio for the first time a few days ago on some bass tracks. Set on monophonic. It worked pretty well! I did not used it on drums yet but I read it's great too. Until now I've always used slip edit for drums. For some reasons, I've never really used Beat Detective because it failed almost every time I tried (even when doing tests following tons of tutos - I must be idiot?).

I'd like to have your opinion about your drum editing technique preferences (slip edit, beat detective, elastic audio). What works best for you and why. Also as I'm new with EA, having some tips and tricks, advices... could be great.

Thanks!

EA only on small parts that need streching cause it would loop ugly otherwise, and I also don't stretch the transient.
BD for the rest of it.

I use Beat Detective almost exclusively, except for tricky/complex sections which I do by hand. I almost never use Elastic Audio unless I need to lengthen a cymbal or drum hit here and there. Elastic Audio causes too many weird phase issues to use too often.

I'm a big fan of BD, I don't like to quantise my drums 100% to grid and BD enables me to keep some of the drummer's groove but tighten it up.

When I have the time, I like to quantize by hand, making sure each cut is exactly right, then letting beat detective backfill and crossfade. On the complex stuff, this usually doesn't take that much longer than using regular beat detective. I wish I had the time to do it this way more often. OCD, ya know?

Thanks gentlemen!

That sums what I was thinking about EA. Great tool but on small parts that need to be fixed only.