Drummers

hibernal_dream

A Mind Forever Voyaging
Jul 10, 2001
Grave with a view
To me, metal drummers don't seem to do enough at the kit. Now I'm not a drummer, I know fuckall about percussion, but just sitting there at the kit simulating the beat of the song or playing ultra-fast blastbeats isn't enough to keep me interested. Black metal are generally the worst culprits in this area, with death drummers putting a bit extra. Why? Don't just fucking sit there keeping the beat you lazy fuckers - Alternate your fills. Change the beat. Speed up/slow down. If I wanted a metro(g)nome as a drummer I'd hire Lars.

Anata and Mastodon are two bands that destroy at the kit.

Name others.

Tool!

well they dont really destroy the kit, but make love to it, lol

Converge

not as technical as some other hardcore bands but still very punishing

Dillinger Escape Plan, of course must be mentioned

anything with Gene Hoglan has great drumming

there are some exceptions to "black metal lazy fuckers" though, namely Trym from emperor who has one of the best sounding kits ive ever heard

Dave Lombardo is an obvious choice...one of the best ever

The guy from Meshuggah (thomas haake?) has some of the most technical drumming ive ever heard

thats all i can think of from the top of my head! :)

hibernal_dream said:
Black metal are generally the worst culprits in this area, with death drummers putting a bit extra. Why? Don't just fucking sit there keeping the beat you lazy fuckers - Alternate your drumrolls.
Name others.

Oh dear. Oh dear. Check out the following CDs, and I'm sure you'll change your opinion.

Mayhem - Wolf's Lair Abyss and Grand Declaration Of War (Hellhammer is amazing)
Emperor - Anthems To The Welkin At Dusk, IX Equilibrium, Emperial Live Ceremony and Prometheus (Trym = Genius)
Dimmu Borgir - Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia, Death Cult Armageddon
Absu - Tara
Behemoth - Satanica, Thelema 6, Zos Kia Cultus
Borknagar - Empiricism
Tidfall - Instinct Gate