Drumming-Double Bass question

Eptar the Goat Lord

New Metal Member
Sep 5, 2002
Your Imagination
Visit site
well, i have had a double bass pedal for about a half a year now, and i am just bothering to learn how to use it. I got invited into a metal band and i need to get good fast. I consider myself to be a pretty damn talented drummer (ive been playing for 6 years) so dont think im just some newb asking how to instantly become the best at something. I realize it will take a ton of freaking practice, but thats fine by me. What i would like is tips and techniques. For example, at some shows i see the drummers play with their heels in the air and hitting it with the ball of their foot. when i do this it seems near impossible to keep steady time. Any advice is of great help.

soooo....youre not really "into" metal, but you got invited to play with a band so now you want to impress people??
am I reading this wrong?!
sorry if I am, it just strikes me as peculiar.

anyway, Im not a drummer by any stretch of the imagination, but just by double bass-ing with my feet and banging on tables and counter tops along with loud music for many years I seem to have developed pretty solid timing. and Im half retarded.
so yeah, I imagine if you are actually a good drummer you should be able to fly like Hellhammer in a few weeks with practice, no problem.

uh..good luck and stuff

get the Emporer and Mayhem DVDs to see masters in action.
I lent mine to the drummer im playing with now and constantly harrassed him until he got the blastbeats down.
now if I could only do something about his silly haircut...