effecient amp to use effects with

bball_1523

Nov 23, 2003
Southern California
Visit site
What is a good efficient and reliable amp that has good clean, good enough distortion, and is a great amp to use multi-effects and/or stomp box effect pedals? I'm looking to spend around 300-500 bucks for an amp that's around 100 watts or so.

I'm not a professional not am I a technical sound whore. I just want a good priced amp that I can play with drummers and other guitarists, and that can let me hear effects from multi-effects processors and stomp boxes, cleanly.

One question - why would you want to spend cheaply on the amplifier only to hear the effects in front? I personally would rather spend higher dollars on a great amp (combo or head) to get a great sounding amp and then put minimal effects in front of it (or in the effects loop).

Look for something used if you are under a strict budget.

I say go solid-state. For your purposes, it won't be a mistake, and you'll easily be able to find something in your price range. Specific recommendations? Marshall Valvestate amps are good, for example...

the thing is I'm not a professional here and I'm gonna be playing live tomorrow or whatever. I just wanna mess around for my own tastes. I don't want to buy an amp that dies out after month, neither do I want one that has horrible cleans and won't even play the effects correctly. I want effects because I want to experiment with them and I want an amp that can let me use outside stomps (not on the amp) effects.

My budget is tight, but I don't know if I can trust used products. If you guys know any hotspots other than ebay to find RELIABLE used amps, please let me know! lol