Fed up with weak guitar tones!!!!

veronicafalls

Mar 26, 2009
Puyallup, Washington
Hello,

I've been doing recording as a hobby for the past 6 months and want to become an active musician after graduating High School have been fed up with weak guitar tones, so far I have spent lots of money searching for at least a decent guitar tone for emocore/post-hardcore the scene kid stuff you know. :cry: lol But with a twist of mathcore in it.

First I have tried vst's like guitar rig (which sucks) and pod farm (wasn't too bad actually). Then I went into micing amps using AKG Perception 220 (better with vocals than guitar), then the shure sm57 (weak). Then I went towards pro amps such as the behringer V-amp pro (weak as hell) then to the line6 pod pro xt (not too bad, but still need more power). And I have quad tracked and used impulses, and I still haven't gotten any good results.

I am looking towards any new power amp if that helps with direct recording or if I need a new interface or new rig in general.
CAN SOMEBODY HELP PLEASE!!!

Basically I want to start using stuff that is physically in front of me and not VST/RTAS or whatever. I kind of want to use vst for only some equalizing. And want to have more physical and not digital access to other things say if a power amp helps define tone in a home (wanna be professional) recording studio setting.

My Gear As Of Now:

Pod XT Pro
Pod Farm
M-Audio Fasttrack Pro 2 inputs
FL studio
Ibanez RG3 guitar
ISP decimator

Thank you to anyone that can help because I am a n00bzore.:cry:
I am a noob and in frustration like f-ing crazy.:kickass:

Currently I am looking towards getting A power amp and/or new mixer. Cause I was super cheap at first, I have a small 2 track interface.

Can anyone give me some tips and pointers about how to get a strong defined sound w/o quadtracking, because my tone and power chords get lost in double or quad tracking, no matter how much eq'ing I do for some reason.

Welcome to the forums.