Fed up with weak guitar tones!!!!

I have been playing for 3 1/2 years now. I want to add that I've only been playing mostly metal for 1 year. The first 2 years were playing songs from Silverstein, Hawthorne Heights, The Used, Armor for Sleep, Greeley Estates(first 3 cd's, not the newest one). So for the longest time I was used to strumming power chords in easy rhythm and solos that weren't that hard, usually in a slower tempo too (140-180).

You can get the "best tone in the world" and it still sounds bad if your playing techniques are bad, how long have you been playing?

+1
I would suggest practicing to your fav artist, getting as tight as you can with them. listen to what they are really really doing, take no short cuts. when i was learning i found it more exciting when there was a hard part that i could play over and over till i got right. don't be in a rush to record your music wrong....take your time and practice and get better and then record your music right.

+1
I would suggest practicing to your fav artist, getting as tight as you can with them. listen to what they are really really doing, take no short cuts. when i was learning i found it more exciting when there was a hard part that i could play over and over till i got right. don't be in a rush to record your music wrong....take your time and practice and get better and then record your music right.

Thanks for the tip, I'll do that definitely.

I am kinda with Winter Snow on this one, the problem has been shitty gear.

If you insist going with hardware, then I suggest that you get atleast a physical tubescreamer (eg. Ibanez TS7, Digitech Bad Monkey...), a 2x12 or 4x12 with preferrably Celestion V30 elements (eg. Framus FR212CB) and a higain tubeamp (eg. Peavey, Mesa, Krank, Engl, Marshall, Bugera, Bogner, Rivera, VHT, Hiwatt...)

And you must remember that when it comes to physical gear, with a dollar you get a one-dollar-sound, with five dollars you get a five-dollar-sound, so don't buy cheap shit.