FL studio Producer edition for rock and metal? Need input.

Axonic Rot

Jan 25, 2010
I need wisdom from people who know more than me.

Here is my question:
Are there any compromises I will be making with FL for increasingly serious recordings other than not having the ability to export project files for others to work with and of course having no street cred whatsoever? I have seen absolutely no one else mention using FL other than as a plugin for programming and figured there definitely is reasoning behind it.

I started learning recording a few years ago and my friend who got me started uses FL Studio because he uses programmed drums exclusively and the piano roll is very pleasant to work with. I know some people run it as a plugin inside of other DAWs for programming. I've gotten familiar with it and think the way everything is set up aligns with how my brain works. When programming a left click places a note, simple click and stretch changes the length and click and drag changes placement. Right click deletes the note. It automatically loops a measure and you can highlight an area to loop while you program. The way the grid looks is easy to see. That's specifically what I like about it.

Now that I've spent a lot of time learning I want to do some money making work. I think it's time to make a decision and purchase a copy of what DAW I am going to use. Please don't attack me for using a cracked copy to learn with. I've been committed to buying whatever I decide to marry from the start. I just wanted to date for a while because I only have enough money to do this once ($500 budget right now).