Guitar in dire need of help!

kernelxsanders

Bam Bam Boogie Bear!
Jun 11, 2010
Tallahassee, Fl
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8017980/untitledriff.mp3

noob here, and i cant ever seem to get any help on how to make the guitar's tone any better. my set: guitar > floor pod's "insane" channel > line-in. drive, mid, treble, presence are boosted to the max with the bass at 6 oclock. (otherwise it will sound like complete shit). i would like any and all advice possible on how i can get a better tone, please! is a DI box recommended? should i bypass the amp models and use ampsim plugins? ive tried Nick Crow's 8505, 7170, RevolutionZ, and RubyTube along with LeCab but just cant get a satisfying tone. if it helps, im trying to get a heavy, but clear sound, almost resembling oceano, whitechapel, structures, newer attack attack, etc. just something that sounds like it would fit the heavy metal/hardcore style! so to anyone who can help in any way possible... please help! will be GREATLY appreciated as well.

Eh. That wasn't terrible I guess. Read around a bit. Tons of great guitar tone on teh board. Plenty of people offering details of most of the mixes.

yea, ive been trying to do what i can, ive spent a lot of time reading around this site, but i cant quite find the info that i need. i figure if i post something that shows how my guitars sound, i can get advice on where to go from there.

Dude,one thing you can try!

If you are using Podfarm,try making use of the dual tone features!

Keep the lo-ends in Tone1
Keep the mids-his in Tone2.

Use a Treadplate or a more crunchier amp-mod in Tone 2 for the space!
And use a more heavier but less gain amp-mod in Tone 1 for the heaviness and the crunch,together it will make a very nice combination!

OR

If you are not using a Dual Tone feature: