Guitar maintenance?

Cognition

Metal
Oct 25, 2009
Norway
I just ordered a Schecter Hellraiser C-1 as an upgrade from my old entry level Ibanez.

Obviously I want to take good care of the guitar, and am ordering a hard case as soon as I can find out what case the guitar would fit into.

However, I don't really know much about things like humidifiers, polish, and fretboard conditioners. Is this something I need to worry about?

What is needed in order to maintain the guitar in pristine condition for years to come?

Just keep it clean and dust free, use a string cleaner after you are done playing(to make them last longer), and wipe off any sweat on the metal parts asap. I have used these products since I started playing 20 years ago, and still use them today.

p8905h-783f056f5a6413d62fc68ac9e8c826dd.jpg

^^^^^ This ^^^^^ The Dunlop products are the best thing you can do for your guitar - I go through this stuff like addict with crack.

Interesting...

I always wash my hands prior to playing guitar, and demand that anyone who plays my guitars wash before playing. Some people think im a prick, but I doubt they care or notice if guitar strings are fresh or not...

anyways, I never knew there was a cleaner for strings! I will definitely check
that out!

I have also used brazilian nut oil (i think thats what its called) to polish and clean the fret board.

i used to be anal and wash me hands, but as long as they aint greasy then thats fine

plus those dunlop products are great at removing it!

as for strings, i have used ghs Fast Fret for years, as i go thru stings in days if i dont, have terribly acidic sweat it seems! but yeah that stuff if used after you play and are leaving your guitar for an hour to 5 days works wonders, keeps your strings like new for alot longer both in tone wise and playability!

^^^^^ This ^^^^^ The Dunlop products are the best thing you can do for your guitar - I go through this stuff like addict with crack.