Guitar Rewiring...

plague_rider

Coffee
Nov 13, 2008
Newcastle
...I have an Ltd 350 (mahogany, floyd, HB-S-HB pickup slots) which i've been trying to rewire

this guitar came as a project (£150) so i've had to source a lot of the Floyd Parts and the electronics...

First off, I decided to swap out the 5-way sliding selector for a 3-way so i could remove the middle single coil...

as i'm not an overly experienced guitarist (bassist by trade, wanted a decent stock guitar for recording with) i figured i wouldn't be needing this pickup, anyone think i'm making a major mistake with this??

the main trouble i'm having at this point is wiring the 3-way selector switch to the EMG 81/85 setup, i've been through a lot of websites including the EMG FAQ section but the diagram shows the pins 4 on each side, whereas they actually have all 8 on one side.
At this point i don't have access to a multimeter...

can anyone help??

see, the switching diagrams with 4 on each side are usually numbered as 0-1-3-5 on each side (with the 0's being output - wire connecting to the common volume or output jack if there are multiple volume knobs). so each row has 0-1-3-5.
Your switch with 8 in a row has this config - 1-3-5-0-0-1-3-5
best of luck

Ah right, i see (kinda), i'll have a look tonight, thats pretty much telling me the way i had planned to wire it is wrong...

thanks though, hoping to get it working asap!!

Had a similar problem recently (EMG's wiring diagrams fucking suck, is a 3-way blade toggle THAT unusual of a choice? :Smug: ), but lolzgreg was kind enough to provide the answer! (which I immediately copied into my own photobucket account for reference :D) Behold...

EMG-wiring-3way-ibanez.jpg

thanks marcus, much appreciated, i'll post whether i get it sorted properly or not...

also, any verdicts on having an EMG in the bridge and a duncan in the neck, or vice-versa??