Guitar signal suddenly sounds weak, and degraded.

Downtuned

Losethehorizonagain
Mar 25, 2011
UK
Hi folks, I've run into some guitar signal issues and wondering if anyone here could help.

I usually get some awesome tones out my amp sims, but today I fired up my computer and when I started playing I notice that the tones weren't quite there any more. They sounded flat, under gained and now had some noticeably digital spiky elements in them. The weird thing is that the VU meter on the input channel is still saying it's a very strong signal (almost at 0dB).

I've replaced leads, tried different guitars, checked input gains and looked to see if I've maybe hit a pad somewhere, plus all sorts of other stuff that just haven't turned up any solutions. I'm starting to get worried because I have a guy coming round next week who I've been sort of bragging about my tones too, and due to that he's maybe interested in paying me to record him, but I can't let him hear this. Usually my tones are rich, creamy and have a full bodied mid range with no digital fizz, plus it only takes a light touch to get a strong note, but now I'm having to jam down on the strings a bit with the pick, otherwise it sounds almost like a crunch instead of a full distortion.

In fact, it sounds quite similar as when I used to just plug my lead right into the Instrument input of my Projectmix I/O. Same spikey digital elements and a tone which isn't quite there, but that changed when I started using active DI box.

It almost sounds like the DI box isn't balancing the signal anymore, but that's just a guess as I'm not even sure if that's possible and still get a signal. There's so many stages that my signal goes through I just have no clue as to where to start looking, becasue I can't afford to buy second versions of everything just to compare.

Gear chain is below -