Hardcore

EternalEnemy

New Metal Member
Aug 2, 2004
Yeah, im sort of interested in knowing a little, not much but little, about hardcore.
So, tell me a few names of both old(Black Flag, Minor Threat) and new (Shai Hulud, or is that stuff post-hardcore?) styles. If you dont mind, discriminate the two.
And is the modern type of hardcore post-hardcore or just new hardcore? I seriously dont know, and im an ignorant fuck when it comes to hardcore, thats why i made this thread.

Oh and id like more of the most known bands, just to get to know to the genre. Maybe in 10-20 years i will ask for KVLT hardcore :p

np:Deströyer 666-Genesis To Genocide

Ok, well the classifications of hardcore (the sub-sub-sub-sub-sub-sub genres that go around) seem to be quite different depending on what part of the country you're in. Now, I'm somewhat new to the hardcore scene myself, but Maryland, being close to DC has a pretty strong hardcore following. For info about the old hardcore, here's a link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardcore_punk that'll tell you everything you want to know, if you feel like reading. Now there is plenty of new hardcore, running along side with post-hardcore. From what I know, post-hardcore is somewhat softer, with more emo tendencies. Hardcore itself seems to be getting harder and harder, fusing with Metalcore. Some really great hardcore/metalcore/mathcore bands of now are: As I Lay Dying, Norma Jean, Bleeding Through, Converge. Converge isn't exactly new, they've been around since 1994, and pioneered the current mathcore sound, along with the Dillinger Escape Plan. They are also quite abrasive, but enjoyable. For some older style, but still modern hardcore, listen to the first two albums by Underoath. However, these albums only sold about 5,000 copies each, and aren't sold anymore, so they might be somewhat hard to find. Their newer albums still have some hardcore, but sound much more produced, and have quite a bit of emo quality to em (I like them anyway) Kee