Help me buy an entry/mid-level bass for recording

iacntspell

New Metal Member
Mar 9, 2012
So I'm a guitarist who has been borrowing my pops' MIM Fender Jazz bass for a while just to use for songwriting and cutting some bass tracks, but he's determined to learn to play so he wants it back. I've been meaning to get a bass of my own, so I'm not heartbroken. I'm looking to spend under $500 on a used bass which I'll use primarily for recording heavy music (anything from Katatonia to Decapitated), and I intend to generally have it set up for C-standard tuning. Until it comes to recording anything but demo's, I'll be direct injecting and using amp sims/impulses.

Since I'm a guitarist, any of the basic suggestions (i.e., 4 or 5 strings, bolt-on vs neck thru, active vs passive pups) would help. Googling and forum searching has helped a bit, but has generally left me lusting after axes twice what I'm willing to spend...

Gratzi!

The best advice I can give you is to just go down to a music store (or two or three) and play EVERYTHING in your price range. Most likely there will be one or two basses that outperform the rest. I generally look for a bass that has the "piano" thing going on - the strings vibrate freely and have a lot of sustain, and the high/low end is consistent across all of the strings. A good bass will sound deep and vibrant even when unplugged.

You need to do this because there can be so much variation among basses (even two identical models) that you don't know what you're getting until you try it out. This makes buying a bass off the internet (or ordering one from a store) a bit of a crapshoot.

My main bass is an American Standard Fender Jazz.

Yeah... Bit hard to find any 35" mid levels :/
I was gonna suggest the Squier Vintage Modified Jazz... But I just scored a mid level Specter for a crazy price and it eats the Squier for breakfast. Mind you I played 3 basses of the EXACT same model and they all sounded different. QC at its finest :/