Help me find my dream amp!

mmmatthew

Sep 1, 2010
Houston, †X
Hey guys. Relative noob here on the forum. Been lurking pretty hard recently on this subject and am really looking for your opinions.

Will be opening a studio pretty soon here in Northwest Houston, TX (have blown a lot of cash for it to be nicely built from the ground up). I am looking for a trustworthy and ballsy sounding amp capable of modern metal and rock tones as well as some quality cleans. This is all for availability as an in house amp for reamps as needed.

In addition to owning a 6505, I have experience with several amps in the studio and live (Dual/Triple Rectifier, various Line 6, & Soldano SLO among others). I can play guitar decently, but am at heart a vocalist and drummer. I mention that because although I would like to think that as a producer/engineer I still have a good idea on tone, I am particularly interested in how producers/engineers who are more experienced guitarists feel about certain amps in the studio, and what their favorites are.

So here are a few of the amps I'm interested in, but they are by no means the only ones I am willing to purchase, so feel free to list any others :) My cab of reference is a Mesa Oversized 4x12 with V30's.

1. ENGL Savage
I really like the sounds that have come out Studio Fredman over the years. I know that a lot the releases themselves are not really applicable to the mainstream metal trends happening here in the States, but I feel that the tone is/can be. This is the amp that I am leaning toward the hardest, especially after watching Ola's videos playing it. Unfortunately I have no personal experience with this amp, but I'm trying hard to find one around here to get my hands on.

2. Soldano Avenger