Help me with my degree!

lanky noob

Jan 13, 2012
The shire, UK
Okay, so i'm fairly sure this is in the right subforum.. sorry if it isn't!

Bit of background, i'm in my second year at BIMM Brighton, and one of my modules is in studio recording, end of year exam is still quite a way off, but it's best to get stuff sorted now right?

In said exam, I have an hour to record someone and get a fairly decent mix/pseudo master going. I'll have an engineer at my disposal to twiddle all the knobs etc, but in the interest of saving time, which I obviously don't have much of, i'll be doing some subtle eq/compression on the way in.

Stuff i'll be recording is a female vocal, acoustic guitars, and possibly an acoustic bass, and out of the following equipment, i'm trying to figure out which chain would be best, so any help/advice you could give on getting me started would be MASSIVELY appreciated.

TL;DR I have to choose from and an hour to record and mix, doing stuff on the way in, help me refine my signal chains

Console :
TLA AUDIO VTC 32 CHANNEL CONSOLE

Outboard:
VACUVOX CL2 (ROHDE AND SCHWARZ) VINTAGE TUBE COMPRESSOR X 2
TLA IVORY VALVE COMPRESSOR
FMR AUDIO RNC COMPRESSOR x 3
DBX 160X X2
DRAWMER VALVE STEREO EQ
EVENTIDE H3000 MULTI EFFECTS
EMT PLATE REVERB
LEXICON ALEX MULTI EFFECTS X2
LEXICON MPX1 MULTIEFFECTS
LEXICON MPX100 MULTIEFFECTS
ALESIS QUADRAVERB PLUS MULTI EFFECTS
ALESIS MIDIVERB MULTI EFFECTS
YAMAHA SPX90 MULTI EFFECTS
YAMAHA PROGRAMABLE DELAY
(plus 1073 and 1176)

Mic's:
NEUMANN U149 VALVE
NEUMANN TLM103
NEUMANN U87
CAD AUDIO TRION 6000
BEYER M160 RIBBON X 3
T BONE RB500 RIBBON X2
GOLDEN AGE PROJECTS R2 RIBBON
SENNHEISER 451 X2
SENNHEISER 421 X2
SENNHEISER E609 X3
AKG D112
AKG 414 X2
AKG 451 X2
SHURE BETA 52 + SHURE BETA 57
SHURE SM58 X4
SHURE SM57 X8
SE E2200