help meee! cubase dongle stuff

JoshSylosis

May 16, 2005
Reading, Berkshire
www.facebook.com
I probably sound like a loser but my computer knowledge is actually shit

so yeh, i've been using cubase sx 2 on a pc for a few years

recently just bought a macbook pro with an upgrade to cubase 4

seeing as it's an upgrade they don't supply a dongle/key so I'll need to use the old one

will this overwrite anything on the key when i install cubase 4?
i want to still be able to use my old pc with sx2 and i still have a couple of projects on the go that need finishing (obviously i'll have to move the key between the two computers)

I know you can store various licenses on one key but wasn't sure if that just meant for different products on the same computer. Wasn't sure if it'd make a difference between two seperate comps, especially seeing as this is mac and pc.

I've tried calling arbiter but they're shut at the mo

any help would be appreciated :worship:

i'm sure it's all fine but a band has already paid me to record their cd but they want some extra tweaks done and i dont wana risk not being able to use sx2 anymore. Wouldn't wana have to pay em back as they money has already been spent on a krankenstein haha

Best way to transfer the project without an external drive or backing up on CD/DVD is go to System preferences on the Mac hit startup disc and then hit target disc mode. The laptop will then boot as an external firewire drive. You then connect the mac to the firewire port I hope youve got on your PC (if you havent ignore all of this) then just save your session to the firewire drive that comes up on your PC

cheers dude

all sorted with that stuff

just cant get it installed propperly

plugged in the dongle, put the cubase 4 disc in and installed it all, got the upgrade download from the website (mtsupport) then opened up that file and trying to install the upgrade shit and it's saying there's no cubase software on the copm to upgrade