Help with getting started as a vocalist

metalman34

New Metal Member
Jun 25, 2010
hey there everyone, im relatively new to being a metal vocalist, i wanted to start doing minor recording for basic youtube videos to get my self out there and into a band, to give you an idea as to what i sound like is very close to the band sea of treachery, what kind of mic and equipment am i looking for? also as a side note, whats some good tricks/theatrics a metal vocalist can do? metal on brothers!

My advice would be to not worry too much about recording for youtube. At the most film yourself on a normal video camera doing a cover through a pa.
I think the best thing you can do to get in bands is advertise then get yourself out there and do some tryouts and rehearsals with bands. I practiced at home for about a year, but when i joined a band i came leaps and bounds very very quickly.
The practice you get in a band is second to none. The advice about warm drinks is helpful, and definately avoid milk. I also try and get a warm tea in before i practice or perform, and try room temperature water instead of cold.

Also dude, as far as basic equipment and gear goes you will need a mic and p.a for jamming.
I would recommend a shure sm58 mic to get you started, cant go wrongwith these for metal, and probably just a cheap behringer pa or something to get you through band practices.

first off to the opera guys this is a metal forum, youre in the wrong place. second off i appreciate the replies, i got myself an sm58 and managed to put up a couple videos on youtube to show a band what im capable of. they become interested immediately and we are in the process of hammering out some music and lyrics, ill post some material when i have it and hopefully well do a show soon!

Hey man, congrats on starting up vocals.