Hi guys, I need some advice. (Studio related)

tempe

Captain Midnight
Sep 22, 2005
Perth, Australia
For a bit of background, I've been an aspiring audio engineer for around 4 years now. I've started recording local bands this year and things are looking good for next year. I'm booked for the first three months of the year which is fantastic, I just have one small problem. I as of the 24th of this month have nowhere to record any of it.

I'm currently also studying at SAE which I'm starting to feel is a giant waste of time for me, because I only started this year. I've been learning on my own for three years and looking forward at my unit outlines I'm not going to learn anything I don't already know (information I've acquired mostly from this forum) until the last trimester in a year's time, which is the use and alignment of a tape machine. I've been recording bands mostly at home using either SAE or the music academy I teach at to record drums, which has been fine until my lease on my current house ran out and because of the noise complaints from recording, the agent decided not to renew our lease. I'm currently in the process of finding a place with my girlfriend and basically have decided that I can't realistically work from home anymore. Not while we are both students and can't really afford a place big enough to accommodate my work.

What I am tentatively thinking of doing is leaving uni and doing whatever I can to start my own studio. Whether that means working a shit job for 6 months and canceling my current bookings (thankfully haven't taken any deposits yet) to save up enough to get a business loan. Or trying to find work at another studio, I'm not really sure.