Hi-Hats

What you guys doing to make your Hi-Hats washy and airy? And what comp/clipping ricks do you guys use?
Ive searched this forum for Hi-Hat stuff, but it seems to be very neglected.
I got a great cymbal mix going, but when the hi-hat comes in its plain.
Cymbals are very room mic, but Hi-hat is more direct mic (if you know what i mean) so any thoughts on the matter would be appreciated.

Add it to a bus with reverb on? Send the oh's to same one to replicate being
In the same room? That MIGHT solve it but I'm not sure how
You have your oh's processed

That most likely is the reason for it.

I'm sure its a big part of the problem, but what I'm looking for, is ways to process hi-hats (samples in this case) like comp, parallel comp, limiting. EQ hi-hats I have no prob with, just how to make em more airy rather than clunky (their SSD hi-hats - not my fav to be honest)
I've got Joeys samples, but need to still upgrade to Kontakt 4 for em to work (I presume his hi-hats are better) but I'm looking for tips on SSD Hi-hat in this case.

I'm sure its a big part of the problem, but what I'm looking for, is ways to process hi-hats (samples in this case) like comp, parallel comp, limiting. EQ hi-hats I have no prob with, just how to make em more airy rather than clunky (their SSD hi-hats - not my fav to be honest)
I've got Joeys samples, but need to still upgrade to Kontakt 4 for em to work (I presume his hi-hats are better) but I'm looking for tips on SSD Hi-hat in this case.

EQ'ing the hihats by boosting higher freqencies and reducing the mids might give you the nessecery air that you're looking for, along with a tiny bit of reverb. And just so I'm not mistaken, if you get Joeys samples then you wouldn't be able to use them in a major production right?

That statement just makes no fucking sense. People buy them so that they can actually use them.