May 18, 2009
Serving Delaware County, PA.Home|News

DelcoTimes.com .Entertainment.Essington woman is the model of rock ‘n roll
Published: Wednesday, August 12, 2009

More Photos
Click thumbnails to enlarge

By Laura Wiseley, Times Correspondent

Click to enlarge

Just a few short years ago, Courtney Cox was treating her Essington neighbors to the sounds of her self-taught guitar stylings from her Seneca Avenue garage.

Now Cox is entertaining fans onstage and off, rocking out with tribute band “The Iron Maidens” in L.A. and posing for Guitar World magazine as runner-up in its annual model search.

It’s been a busy year for the 21-year-old self-taught guitarist, who graduated from Interboro High School in 2006. In addition to performing onstage as “Adriana Smith,” a female version of Iron Maiden’s Adrian Smith, she’s one of Jackson Guitar’s featured artists and has been writing her own tunes with her musician boyfriend.

And to think, it all started in a garage in Essington.

“I come from a very musically inclined family,” Cox said. “My mom plays guitar, my dad plays drums, my brother Rick is a metal drummer, and my brother Matt played the trumpet.”

In the fourth grade, Cox joined the school band as a keyboardist. That summer, she taught herself to play clarinet, and the following summer, learned to play the flute.

“When I was 13, my brother introduced me to the music of Metallica, and it was their lead guitarist, Kirk Hammett, who influenced me into picking up the guitar and practicing day and night,” she said. “I played relentlessly until I taught myself to play with proficiency.”

Recognizing her daughter’s musical talents, Cox’s mother, Joanne, enrolled her at the Paul Green School of Rock in Philadelphia, where she got her first taste of performing onstage.