I finally have some money.

Brent Holder

Separating Body From Head
Aug 27, 2013
Well this is kind of a general question but I thought I would get a few peoples opinions. Basically I own no recording equipment...

BUT! I finally saved up to a point of where I would like to start purchasing a few things to get me started. My actual question really is if you had 500-600$ to spend, and you were a complete newbie (though I have been spending quite a while on the computer reading and watching tutorials for the past year) what would be the first things you would purchase?

I was thinking this Akai Pro EIE and get some ATH-M50 headphones. I like the fact that it has 4 inputs, it comes with Cubase, and the reviews I have seen say it has zero latency but I haven't seen that many reviews so I don't know for sure if it really is a good audio interface. And I also can't tell for sure if it has 48v phantom power.

As for the ATH-M50 headphones I'm pretty sure those are the ones I want to get.

I plan to start off by making some really lame metal songs (lame because playing music isn't my strong suit but I am alright at bass and my brother plays guitar) So I would need some drum software, such as EZ Drummer or Superior Drummer. And he doesn't have the best equipment in the world so I may need a few amp simulators and stuff.

but those are just my ideas so far, like I said what would you do if you were in my situation?

One piece of advice I can give you is when buying a low cost interface to create and write music on stability is everything. Don't get too wrapped up in specs. If you need to track more than 2 tracks at a time your options will be different than a basic 2 channel converter.

Interface (Focusrite Scarlett 2i2?, never tried it but its cheap and I imagine its fairly stable, higher cost maybe an RME or Apogee?)
1 x SM57 (You will never get rid of it, i played the low cost condenser game, i've sold all of them; best value condenser i have that I like is the AT4040)