I have a four questions about panning. if you don't mind.

Det Som Engang Var

Viking Bastard
Jun 3, 2005
Houston, TX
Should clean rythem guitars be panned 50/50 like distorted ones? Is there any difference if you're just note picking or strumming chords?

Should vocals always be dead center?

Lead guitar solos, should they be panned center or 50/50?

And what if I was like, tremelo picking over over rythem guitars. Center or 50/50?

Thank you! I'm working on a new Empiric track I've been messing with in my head for a few years. And Dan made me realize the importance of mastering, so I learned how to do that.

In all honesty, it depends on the song and whether you're trying to obtain atmospheric properties. With having an overlay of clean rhythm over your main riff (or any distorted part), I would keep it centered with the volume lower than the distorted part. Though, I feel that it is dependent on the song and how YOU envision it.

Vocals, I feel, should be dead center unless the vocals are acting as an accent rather than a focal point of the song. One thing that is really cool to do is when you have a harmony is to pan one octave to one side and the other octave to the other side.

With solos, I feel that they should always be dead center and should contain enough volume so that they are focused upon. Harmony solos sometimes work like some harmony parts of vocals; they sound really cool at opposite sides. Though, if it is a lead solo like you're asking about and it contains a harmony, I think that both tracks should be centered and equalized through volume control.

I've never really done any recording with tremolo (let alone really written anything using tremolo) so I don't have any advice.

To be honest John, the best way to determine what the best panning settings are with different tracks is to try out different options. Like I said, I feel it all depends on what you're trying to accomplish with the sound of the song.