I need help from fellow drummers.

FatesFan

Dec 18, 2004
Here is the deal. I played drums from about 79 to about 88 at which time I hung it up for good. That was until I was asked last year to play again and join this band. The band had a kit that had been left there by a dude about 7 years ago. I have been playing it for the last 6-7 months and all of the sudden, the dude comes out of nowhere and wants it back. So, I went out today and pick up the used kit you see below in pictures. I got what I think was a heck of a deal for this kit with the cymbals you see.

What I need are some recommendations in regards to drum heads. I am going to replace all batter heads and I have no idea what are the heads of choice these days. Can I get some insight from you guys as to what I should be looking for in terms of brand and type? Maybe also some insight on what type of sound to expect from a particular head for example a single ply vs. a hydraulic head etc. I will replace all....( 12"-13"-14"-16" & 18" toms and 2-22" kick drums)

All input would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance.

Side note........

The dude I got them from said the dude he got them from had both kicks signed on the inside by Randy Castillo in 88'. Not sure I buy it and there is no way I can authenticate it but I have added a pic below of the supposed signature.

RaveandDrums006.jpg

RaveandDrums007.jpg

RaveandDrums010.jpg

Drums004.jpg

Drums007.jpg

What style of music? Metal? Are you looking to use triggers? What type of sound do you enjoy? Higher pitch, medium, or thunderous?

Nice kit BTW reminds me of my old TAMA ROCKSTAR kit. Absolutely loved it.

What style of music? Metal? Are you looking to use triggers? What type of sound do you enjoy? Higher pitch, medium, or thunderous?

Nice kit BTW reminds me of my old TAMA ROCKSTAR kit. Absolutely loved it.