I'm new to Saxon

saxon metal

Chief
Aug 8, 2005
Finland
Greetings, Eagles of Metal!

I'm a 25-year old metal maniac hailing from Finland.

I've been listening to heavy metal and hard rock since autumn 1990, so I've been around for a while.

I love all kinds of heavy metal and hard rock. I especially like the old school of legendary bands of heavy metal, more specifically the ones representing the best of British Heavy Metal: Judas Priest, Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden, Motörhead. American Heavy Metal is absolutely best when listening to DIO. Ozzy and BLS rule as well. German Heavy Metal is also my favorite stuff: AccepT, U.D.O., Scorpions, etc.

I've always known that Saxon is one of the all-time best legends of NWOBHM but for reasons due to the huge amount of different kinds of metal music I've been indulging, I've never had the focus of including Saxon among my discography...until now.

This spring, I listened (and watched) the magnificent track "Princess Of The Night" from the album DENIM AND LEATHER (1981). I was totally and absolutely blown away, what great HEAVY METAL this is! And what a great loss it has been that I've not listened to Saxon before, even though I've always known (from my friend) that Saxon is one of the best...Well, I guess it's never too late to discover a band this good!

As I've read different track lists of different albums, compilations and live shows, I understand this track and the album itself are some of the most legendary Saxon pieces around. "Princess Of the Night" is a one helluva heavy metal song - that's for sure - but it seems that it's also one of the most famous and popular tracks of Saxon. After all, the year 1981 saw the emergence of many great heavy metal albums: "Point Of Entry" from Judas Priest, "Killers" from Iron Maiden, "Mob Rules" from Black Sabbath and "Breaker" from Accept. Just to mention few.