[Impulses] Why don't my tones sound the way they should?

Tharantyr

New Metal Member
Apr 5, 2012
Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to this whole IR thing, but I'm trying. I've actually tried doing this a long time ago, but I had the same problem I'm running into right now, so I gave up. Me and a friend have decided to record some songs to try to find some more band members. That's why I decided to give cabinet impulses another go, because I wanted a great sounding tone for our songs.

Anyway, every time I try do use impulses, the tone I get is completely different from the tone I'm supposed to be getting. I've actually literally copied some of the chains posted on this forum to see if I'd get the same result, but to no avail. For example, I copied this guy's chain to see if I'd get that same tone, but I got a fuzzy tone with a terrible amount of bass.

I also followed [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBjpXPaLIh0&feature=related]this video turial[/ame] explaining how to get the sound in the video using cabinet impulses. I did EXACTLY what the guy in the video said, but my tone was again different, with more bass and not sounding at all as great as that tone.

I really want to get the hang of using cabinet impulses, and I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing wrong. Do any of you guys have an idea, and could you help me out? I'm using REAPER. Thanks a lot.

whats your chain from the guitar to the computer. actually.... whats your guitar? what pickups?? everything plays a part. if your using a shit guitar with shit pickups (or not proper pickups for metal) and its going into a shitty interface creating a shitty D.I. signal. then.....

garbage in is garbage out

My guitar is an Ibanez S770PB. I use the stock pickups, an INF1 pickup, an INFS1 pickup and an INF2 pickup. It goes into a Line 6 Pod Studio GX.

Thanks for answering. :)

Man those stock pickups eat shit for breakfast dude, Ibanez probably thought that noobs will find the extra bass response really kool sounding