In need of a pedal for a guitar

vulpine

New Metal Member
Mar 10, 2009
Hello.
I am looking for a guitar pedal. Ussualy play death/doom metal, but I sometimes like to play death metal so, if it could be universal it would be great. I also like the sound of early 1996 Katatonia. I guess Blackheim used BOSS GT-3 or he does now, but it's a processor and I need a pedal ('cause I already have a cheap and lame processor, that I bought long time ago, when I just started playing). Some people recommended BOSS DS-1 or DS-2, but I think that's not really made for doom metal. Also, there's a DigiTech Metal Master pedal, which, in my opinion, has a sandy sound. What can you recommend?
Thanks.

I had a Boss GT-6 and it was so fucking hard to get a good sound. If I changed amp I had to redo all the fucking settings all over again. So dont get a GT-6 or 8 (because they are very similar) if you dont like spending shitloads of time trying to get a decent tune.

I had a Boss GT-6 and it was so fucking hard to get a good sound. If I changed amp I had to redo all the fucking settings all over again. So dont get a GT-6 or 8 (because they are very similar) if you dont like spending shitloads of time trying to get a decent tune.

i think that's fun. well i have a pod xt live and it works well for effect but the fucking distortion is awful on it.

It's so hard when one says that something is awesome and then some other dude says the quite opposite about the same thing.

Ibanez Smashbox 7. You say it works for most genres. You mean it works for every genre? Starting jazz, ending with hardcore? That's bad. If it works for all the genres, it doesn't work a 100% for one direction. If you know what I'm sayin', but maybe I misunderstood.

BOSS DS-2. I'm thinking about this one. Godswil, do you own it? Oh could you play something with a good setting and place it on youtube?