Boss Metal Core Pedal? Opeth

The Trees

New Metal Member
Jun 7, 2008
I want to play some good ol' Opeth tunes but i need a heavy pedal i did some research for a heavy one. Don't like the metal zone, already got the Boss HM-2. Now this metal core pedal came out anyone try it? Is it worth buying?

I don't know but the Metal Muff seems to be pretty good - according to reviews. I have it but I'm a total guitar noob, so I can't actually tell.

I have both a metal zone (which btw is pretty meh if you're not playing Metallica) and a ds-1, and I still only use amp's distortion for Opeth. So...yea...what the above poster said.

I kinda agree, my amp is really cheap (I've put too much money into guitars/effects and I'm still using a starter amp), and it's still good enough that I've just gone ahead and taken the DS-1 out of my pedal board. But for my cheap amp, some thrash metal sounds are pretty hard to get.

I think I bought what I have at a list price of $200 or something so...it's definitely time to replace that but I don't have the money.

Like a few people have said, it's worth saving up for a decent amp. The majority of the time people prefer the distortion straight from the amp. For the record, I have a Dual Rectifier and the distortion is chunky as all hell, which is great for metal and hard rock. It's even better when coupled with an extra EQ pedal/rack. You can get a huge variety of tones with a combination like that. Though, I can't blame you if it's out of your price range for a decent amp. But when you can afford it, it's well worth it, in my opinion. I haven't come across a solid state amp that's come anywhere near to replicating the sound of a tube amp.