interested in playing drums

Theredchord8

New Metal Member
Oct 5, 2005
i'm 19 and i've always wanted to start playing drums. I've been listening to all kinds of metal for about 3 or 4 years now. unfortunately my favorite kind of music is tech stuff like the red chord, into the moat, psyopus, ion dissonance, necrophagist which seems like it'd be the most difficult. I know pretty much nothing about playing drums aside from what i want to be able to play like. I was wondering if anyone could offer up some advice about starting drumming/getting a new drum set...i've looked around the forum a bit and seen that the pearl export and tama rockstar are good.

Go see a drummer at your local store and see if they know of any teachers. I would suggest a jazz teacher for at least a while. May not be your fave type of music, but Jazz drummers kick ass on small sets and a lot of great metal and progressive drummers have taken Jazz lessons.

I always wanted to do drums too. I already play guitar and bass. Thanks for the advice, I was going to ask the same question.

97reb said:
Go see a drummer at your local store and see if they know of any teachers. I would suggest a jazz teacher for at least a while. May not be your fave type of music, but Jazz drummers kick ass on small sets and a lot of great metal and progressive drummers have taken Jazz lessons.

He may want to wait, and get the fundaments of drumming before he jumps into Jazz. Since it's a hard thing to rap your head around if you have never played before. (Syncopation, four way independence etc.) But your right about great drummers and Jazz lessons, they do seem to go hand in hand.

But yeah, getting a teacher as soon as possible is the best, if you don't you will make mistakes you don't know you are making (like how you hold your sticks for instance) and they will become bad habits.