Jobs in the music industry?

clarbaden

Jan 26, 2009
is there any point wasting 20 grand on a degree in music production? seems like everyone who works in the industry for a living is self taught and is freelance, where do even apply to work for a production company?

i just wanted to know if you personally make a living off producing? or is it a hobby?

Seriously... don't spend that amount of money on those schools. You'll regret it later, a couple of friends went to Alchemea and deeply regret as it was proper shit, didn't really learn anything new only to get a sub-par diploma that doesn't really give you anything...

Unless you have money for it and feel you'll learn a lot, then more power to you, but let me tell you, I know quite a few people that went to those schools, they're all twats, have no clue of wtf audio production actually is and use ableton live to mix them beatz :)

Don't bother going, I'm going to uni doing studio production and technology (in my 2nd year) , but the only reason im doing it is A) its only like £700 a year for 3 years because im learning in a welsh university and B) I figured, should I ever get one of those TIIIIINY chances of luck coming my way only to be blasted with a 'Whats your qualification' then i'll be kind've safe.

This doesn't really apply to engineering I'd say more for radio and stuff for the BBC where people are probably more clinical about it and would prefer a diploma rather than a portfolio.
So in short don't do it, study something slightly more secure (whatever that is)

I have been wondering the same thing. Thinking about going to school for audio engineering but I'm afraid I could save the $ and learn on my own.

is there any point wasting 20 grand on a degree in music production? seems like everyone who works in the industry for a living is self taught and is freelance, where do even apply to work for a production company?

i just wanted to know if you personally make a living off producing? or is it a hobby?