kontakt 3 experts?

joeymusicguy

Sep 21, 2006
indiana
www.myspace.com
anyone care to help me over aim with setting up cymbal samples in kontakt 3?

i want to make an "instrument" in K3 behave like a single instance of drumagog

so... round robin sample selection (or random) of a single velocity, and so on

can anyone help me do this in the next few hours?

I'm by no means an expert, and use kontakt 2, but it's really not that hard to
set up a few samples as you described...

1. Create a new instrument (ctrl+N)
2. In the "Group editor" create as many groups as you need ("create empty group", one for each multisample)
3. Set "Group starts" to Rd. Robin and give it a number (for each group)
Make sure "Edit all groups" is disabled! Many times I yelled at my Laptop for not
letting me assign different positions in the rd robin chain :Smug:
4. Now head to the mapping editor, check the first of the groups and drag one of the samples in
5. Adjust the velocity range of this sample (you can just drag the top and bottom of the box around)
6. Add in the other velocities, all in the same group.
7. Now comes the annoying part: since you want the different samples in the robin chain
to be played back from the same key, you have to do 4-6 again, with the next group
checked, right on top of the first one. So be sure to check "Selected groups only"
or you'll drag around the wrong samples most of the time.
Another possibility is to set up the next group on a different key, and when you get
the velocities right, drag them back together on one key

I guess that should be it... Hope that's not too confusing :headbang:

i actually figured out how to do it using battery 3.

i would basically treat the cell matrix in battery 3 as a single instrument (a cymbal)

set up the whole matrix to form the functioning cymbal

then save that as monolith
then load a buntch of those into kontakt 3