Latency issues

Noisense

New Metal Member
Jul 19, 2009
Hi!

I've been hanging around reading these forums for a couple of months, learnt a lot! Now I'm going to start recording a bit, using my friends Edirol UA-25 into Reaper, until I get my own interface.

But I'm having a lot of trouble with latency both while tracking and playing back. When I'm only monitoring my guitar in Reaper there is almost no latency, but as soon as I hit the record button it starts lagging, badly. I find it quite strange that when I only playback the click, I get no latency, but when I've recorded a guitar (going through TSS, 8505 and KeFIR) everything lags.

Can someone post some ridiculously simple troubleshooting rules? It's probably something I'm overlooking that I haven't learnt yet, due to lack of experience.

Also, I'm using ASIO4All.

Thanks in advance!

Hmm, do you have a way of splitting your signal so you can monitor via an amp for your performance so you can record dry with DI, so you can apply the amp sim/TSS and the impulses later? They tend to add latency (the amp sims, impulse hosts), so it's best to find a way to monitor while recording dry especially when you've only got a USB interface.
Easier option is to just get a firewire interface really.

Thanks alot. :)

I have got a crappy Behringer DD100 which has two outputs, would it be possible to use that bypassed? do you know if there is any difference between the two outs? they only say "Out A" and "Out B" on the pedal.

And I'm going to get a FireWire interface when I get mine. :)

The Edirol is supposed to be a really good interface capable of low latencies (I remember Gavin saying he could get under 3 ms); why not try using its drivers, rather than ASIO4ALL?

Thanks alot. :)

I have got a crappy Behringer DD100 which has two outputs, would it be possible to use that bypassed? do you know if there is any difference between the two outs? they only say "Out A" and "Out B" on the pedal.