Learning Guitar

Firzen

New Metal Member
Feb 14, 2006
I've acquired a pretty much free electric guitar and amp (its pretty shitty) its something I can learn with. Now I have no musical experience whatsoever, but people have told me its possible to learn yourself through friends and the 'net ( i have quite a few friends in bands and such) Is this the way to go? Or should I fork out money for lessons\tutorials?

Any advice related to the question or learning electric guitar appreciated. Hopefully I'll be able to moderately rock out within a year or two. (Who am I kidding? I'll prolly just play Katatonia covers every day I can)

:Smokin:

I've acquired a pretty much free electric guitar and amp (its pretty shitty) its something I can learn with. Now I have no musical experience whatsoever, but people have told me its possible to learn yourself through friends and the 'net ( i have quite a few friends in bands and such) Is this the way to go? Or should I fork out money for lessons\tutorials?

Any advice related to the question or learning electric guitar appreciated. Hopefully I'll be able to moderately rock out within a year or two. (Who am I kidding? I'll prolly just play Katatonia covers every day I can)

:Smokin:

Well, learn to read tabs;

an example (in standart tuning eadgbe, which are the tones from low to high)

E|--------------------
B|0-----0-----------0
G|4-----6------0----6
D|4-----7------2----7
A|2-----5------2----5
E|0-----0------0----0

(these are the opening chords of dispossession - katatonia (originally tunes a half tone lower, but lets save you the tuning;) )

the first chord now means you should play the numbers of frets (iron bar thingies) you see at the string. So, the 0 fret is the non-existing fret, meaning you play an open string. then you play the second fret of the string below the first one by just putting your (pointing)finger just before it...
same for 4th fret on D and G (with ringfinger and pinky finger).