Live DVD

Jordon

Sep 14, 2008
Chicago
Hey all. I did some searching around but didn't find a whole lot on this forum about this. I'm currently mixing a 6-song live promo DVD for my band. Everything sounds pretty good, to be honest. The guitars were mic'd pretty nicely, and I grabbed DI's just in case. The bass had to be re-amped, because I only had a DI to work with, and it needed to be filled out. Vocals are fine, I'm not going to tune anything, unless it's embarrassingly off, which happens so little, I might just not screw with it. My only issue is this:

The kick and toms sound terrible. I'm not worried about editing for time, as it's a live dvd, and I'm ok with some screwups here and there, but the tones are atrocious. I know they sounded great in the venue, but they didn't translate to the digital medium very well. How terrible would it be to replace them, or maybe just stack them? I don't want to go about this the "wrong" way, but this is my first time mixing concert live material, and I just do not know how to approach it.

Also, when it comes to backing tracks, the feed from the board was mono, since we see little need to run stereo bt's live. Should I just use the mono feed from the show, or lay in our actual stereo tracks? Mono sounds fine live, but on tape, especially through headphones, there can be some odd phasing artifacts.

And one more thing (I know this is a lot, I'm sorry!), should I throw verb on a buss for the whole mix and bring it up a touch so it doesn't sound so flat and dry?

This is just my personal opinion and people might disagree with it, but I'd say go for it except for the mix bus reverb. You can experiment with it, but be very, very careful. It can easily mush things up too much and make it sound unnatural.