Looking for some advice

Netphyx

New Metal Member
Apr 26, 2012
Hi guys

So I've been lurking around the forum for a few days. Decided to make an account and this is my first post :).

A little background story: I have been producing electronic music for about 2 years (just for fun), but in my spare time I've always listened to post-hardcore bands. Particularly bands that Joey mixed, I have noticed. Anyway, since post-hardcore is my real passion, I decided to try and create my own mixes.

I started a learning project consisting of a 9-second breakdown. What I am trying to achieve is something that some members of the forum have already done: something like Scott Cumming's track http://soundcloud.com/teddynamek/working-progress-no-leads or Jacob Mares' . Figured it had a Joey Sturgis style to it, that's why I posted here.

Now I'd like to get some feedback on what I have put together in the past few days. I know there's something wrong, but I don't know how to fix it and I was hoping someone on this forum could tell me how. Since I am a newbie in mixing post-hardcore, a link to a specific lesson / tutorial or just general advice would also be more than welcome!

The mix in question consists of a guitar and a drum kit and is located at http://www.netphyx.be/test4.mp3. I isolated the drum track to http://www.netphyx.be/test4_drums.mp3 and the guitar track to http://www.netphyx.be/test4_guitar.mp3. Previous versions can be found at test1.mp3, test2.mp3 etc.