Looking to record some demos...which of these should I get?

amd123

Aug 18, 2009
My budget is 300 USD.
I can buy these:
Line 6 Pod XT Live (300 USD)
Line 6 Pod Studio UX2 (200 USD)
Steinberg CI2 (200 USD)

I'm looking to record my guitar and reamp using amp sims all within Ableton.
The Line 6 Pod XT Live has a USB output to record. The Pod Studio also has this option.

A salesman at Guitar Center told me the Steinberg CI2 has a DI Box for the guitar but I need to get monitors.

Is there anyway I can record without using monitors, I wanna use my regular computer speakers (I'm only a hobbyist looking to record some demos).

Man, you cant just save a hundy more and go for the Profire 610? Firewire luvz u.

bear_hug.jpg

This is assuming you live in the usa. In Australia you'd pay 10,000 dollars just to look at a piece of gear.

Man, you cant just save a hundy more and go for the Profire 610? Firewire luvz u.

bear_hug.jpg

This is assuming you live in the usa. In Australia you'd pay 10,000 dollars just to look at peice of gear.

I was looking into that, but I don't even have a fire wire port in my computer >_>

Oh yea, I also heard of people even using Behringer V-Amp to record demos?
How is the quality?

Oh yea, I also heard of people even using Behringer V-Amp to record demos?
How is the quality?

Really? I think there is someone on here that uses one, but I had one and despised it. For cleans it was nice, but the distortions from it were horrible! I never found a setting I liked, all cold as hell with no warmth.The PodXT is a much better demon, but still takes a bit of learning to get to grips with. You can get the XT very cheap these days on the used market, so I would recommend that 1000 times over the V-amp. Sure, the pro looks nice, but looks aint everything. You may hear someone say it's nice, but having used the to, I much prefer the XT
Never liked the V-amps tuner either