Loudness level

mairomaster

Jun 16, 2011
Bulgaria/UK
There are lots of topics for mastering in the forum soon, but I think my question is important.
People always talk about commercial levels of lets say -9 dB RMS. Do they usually mean the average loudness of the whole song or the average loudness of the loudest moments (choruses for example) or what? I've tried to find some information on the web but I didn't have much of success.
I know it's always best to use your ears, but I'm pretty new to mastering and prefer to use some reference measurement tools for better results. I use Izotope Ozone 5 Advanced. Do you think its loudness meters are good? What tools do you use for measuring the loudness?

Average loudness of whole song. Yes to the Ozone thing, at least from what I've demo'ed and heard about it's one of the better plugs of it's type, though I don't own it and ftmp people tend to only use parts of it and not the whole deal together ftmp. I use the Brainworx TT dynamic range meter for my loudness metering.

Yeah, because of how many variables can affect the loudness of my stuff, from the loudness of the volume on the interface, the volume on Windows, etc. etc. I use reference materials to judge the loudness. I aim for an average of -7 RMS for metal, and it typically peaks somewhere in the -6 to -5 range. Mastering kicks my ass, haha.

People always talk about commercial levels of lets say -9 dB RMS. Do they usually mean the average loudness of the whole song or the average loudness of the loudest moments (choruses for example) or what?
Ime, when I see people give an rms value for their loudness it is for the top rms reading of the song and not the average rms throughout.

To add to the confusion some digital meters read the AES- 17 standard which is 3 dB difference from convention digital metering.