metal from the Balkan countries???

Cythraul

Dec 10, 2003
Hey folks, I've got a little request. Could any of you recommend good metal bands from the Balkans? Besides Greece, I have little knowledge about the metal in that part of the world. By the Balkan countries I mean the following:

Albania
Bosnia-Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Montenegro
Romania
Serbia
Slovenia
Turkey (even though Turks aren't real people)

Any kind of non-poserish metal will do. Just make sure it's good.

DO NOT recommend bands from the Republic of Macedonia. It's not a real country. It's a bunch of Slavic jerks who try to steal Greek history and culture and they are not real people.

DO NOT recommend Greek bands. I already know plenty about Greek metal.

DO NOT recommend Negura Bunget. I'm already familiar with them and I like them a lot.

Slovenia: Brezno (up-and-coming female-fronted Slavic Pagan/Folk Metal group, not 'extreme metal', just beautiful and fun like Russia's Kalevala)
Bulgaria: Balkandji (pagan/folk, more rock than metal)
Romania: Bucovina (Pagan/Folk Metal)
Romania: Martolea (gloomy folky Negura Bunget side-project (I won't shut up about this project until it is mentioned every time Negura Bunget is mentioned))
Turkey: Sorg Uten Tårer (Scandinavian style melo-death, but Mistbound (2009) is a nice acoustic album)
Croatia: Powerless (Folk Black Metal)
Croatia: S.o.M. (unique ambient/doomy style ("Ethno Doom" as one of their album titles has it)
Croatia: Stribog (epic Pagan/Folk Black Metal like Russia's Arkona)
Greece: Aeklypsis (Melodic Death with a bit of an epic vibe like Amon Amarth)
Greece: Transcending Bizarre? (you've probably already heard of them)
Bulgaria: Vrani Volosa (Pagan/Dark Metal like Bathory/Agalloch/etc.)
Bulgaria: Shambless (epic Pagan Folk/Black)
Turkey: Almôra (Symphonic/Gothic)

DO NOT recommend bands from the Republic of Macedonia. It's not a real country. It's a bunch of Slavic jerks who try to steal Greek history and culture and they are not real people.