Mic selection help?? please

bpcrshooter15

Nov 13, 2008
I've never done vocals before, but i'd like to record my vocalist now. I was planning on getting a SM57 as they seem to be standards. My vocalist does hard singing(hetfield-like iguess)/screaming a la Matt Heafy-Trivium.

What would be the best way to go for these vocals on a budget:
(let it be known im looking for suggestions, not an "answer", i don't have access to try all these out and such or money to buy multiple)

SM57, (i figure I can mic my amps with it too, which is a +)
SM58,
PG57/58 (is there a significant quality loss. $30-40 cheaper would help)
or a cheap condenser mic(suggestion?, i was looking at the MXL990)?

Well obviously the 57 would probably be the best investment. But, if you don't have a halfway decent preamp to drive it you might be better off with a cheaper condenser for doing vocals.

The PG series way sucks compared to the SM series. Not a big fan of the PG's.

I have used a 990 with (what I thought) were pretty decent results. For the price I think it's "allright".

oh, I neglected to mention i would be using a 1/4" input on a Toneport, and using the gearbox pre-amps (idk if this counts as halfway decent; im clueless as to mic preamps). Later I plan on upgrading, but right now I can't buy a mic and upgrade, so im looking to invest in a mic first.

...incase that changes things.

Eh, I gotta disagree with Force666, cheap condensers usually sound harsh and noisy, so when you compress the signal you can often get some piercing sibilants and the like. I'd say 57 with a pop filter!

Fuck the 57 for vocals. get an sm7, save up, it is a beautifull mic, sounds omfg great to. for heavy music. and loud loud vocals

2.5x as expensive (even when buying used) ain't nothin' to sneeze at dude, and there are some good condensers at that price range as well (namely the Studio Projects C1, although if the main use is aggressive male vox then I vote the SM7)

referring to your suggestion of the 990: