mixing heavy vocals?

hsinn3r

Dec 26, 2006
first of all this forum rocks :D andy is an icon :headbang: (and that is a good thing :)

so, i'm trying to get a the haunted sound with the vocals, kinda like what marco aro sounded like... ok, tight compression, a tiny-weenie bit of delay, but other than that what? a chorus or a bit of distortion maybe? what kind? i'm sad to say that i have never used a chorus before... any help???

dub the vocals and have the dub maybe 6db below the first, to get mor punch in it. I use C4, and Rvox for compress,Rdesser, and a eq last :)

hm, thx for the tip, i have many takes, so i'll try layering a few... what about a chorus, any suggestions?
thx

normally 1176 or ssl the shit out of the vocals, then a few cuts here and there,
delay, plate verb, and blend in a snasamped copy if you want

I really dig the Audio Damage Fuzz Plus on vocals. And it's free! I've also tried the Massey THC which ruled, but I haven't bought it yet so I can't save my settings.

a bit of distortion maybe? what kind?

It's been a while since I've listened to that record, but The Haunted Made Me Do It has a pretty significant amount of distortion on the vocals.

As for what to use- whatever you have that sounds best to you. A lot of people like the Sansamp for vocal dirt; you can try a guitar stompbox, clipping the mic pre, Pod, blasting the vocal track through a guitar amp and micing that, plugins, whatever works. I know a guy who uses a megaphone for dirt on his vocals. There's really no set standard.

What kind of delay are you guys using? I've tried doing delay on the vocals but it's always too effects-y. Either that or I have to turn the fader to like -14 to make it not so.

Also what kind of settings? Are you using it inline or are you using a send to the delay?