Monitors Monitors Monitors

Line666

Fendurr
Sep 2, 2006
Ok, so on my quest to find the right first pair of monitors for myself I've been rather bamboozled (love that word) with shit loads of different opinions.

For every person saying buy X monitor there is another person saying "X is shit buy Y".

In general I want to get more serious about this mixing at home thing, I'm spending most of my mixing hours at college fiddling with the routine NS10's and massive big fuckoff Quested's and then coming home to attempt to mix on speakers that are even so far sub-hi-fi level it's unbelievable, so believe me when I saying anything is a step up! :kickass:

So far I've narrowed the running down to four different sets of monitors (I've got about a £300 price maximum atm - this is about a 1/3 of my current savings and I'm a very poor student without a job so it's quite a spend), anyway, without furtherado so far in the running is:

1. Tannoy Reveal 5a's (£245) - heard a lot of good things about these, there's not been much bad said about them at all, worried slightly that the 5inch driver will result in a lack of low end - although have heard that they deliver fairly well.

2. M-Audio BX8A's (£250) - Again seem to be a fairly well recommended budget monitor, from what I can gather from the search I know Kazrog mixed on an older version of these (and I quite like his mixes), the 8inch driver on this one is a big plus but I've heard that they can be a bit boomy.

3. KRK RP5's (£270) - Very mixed reviews of these, heard that they are very coloured and that the 5's lack the low end of the 6's or the 8's (which arent in the running due to price limitations) - heard that the Rokit series tends to colour the sound a lot.

4. Yamaha HS50's (£260) - From what I can gather occassionally recommended, lack in the lows again, a lot of people recommend the hs80's over these but I really dont think I can stretch that far.