MY FIRST REAL MIX/MASTER FROM SCRATCH (METALCORE/HARDCORE/DEATHCORE)

SirKnucklesmd

Ctrl+zZzZz
Feb 11, 2011
Orange County
So I've been working on a metalcore project of mine for a couple months now and this is my first attempt at REAL audio production. I took my mixes to a local mastering "whiz" a few weeks back to have the finishing touches put on them. He did his "stem mastering" thing and I got the reference cd back and he turned my music to shit. You could not distinguish a goddamn thing, he did a great job of royally f***ing up my work. I won't do it here but needless to say I will be writing a lengthy review on what I think of his work and "innovative" stem-mastering approach which cost me $500. He wanted to charge me the full price again to do the revision so I gave him the middle and cut my losses and attempted to master it myself.

Anyways, I used Ozone because I heard that is the simplest way to achieve good results for the less experienced M.E. There is an Unmastered version and a Mastered version of the song. Any suggestions you guys have would be greatly appreciated, something you hear I could alter on my master or suggestions you have on the mix that would better effect the final mastered sound. Thanks to all in advance!

Mastered: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/20963810/Frailty MASTER.mp3

Unmastered: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/20963810/Frailty UNMASTER.mp3

Holy shit! that mp3 was clipping everywhere. Hold on let me EDIT and get a better one up...

EDIT: yea idk why but the mp3's are clipping something fierce on my end and it definitely isn't because of my levels. I left -3db headroom on my unmastered and it too sounds like its being pumped...

Holy shit! that mp3 was clipping everywhere. Hold on let me EDIT and get a better one up...

EDIT: yea idk why but the mp3's are clipping something fierce on my end and it definitely isn't because of my levels. I left -3db headroom on my unmastered and it too sounds like its being pumped...