My own custom amp is finally completed!! No more SolidState/SoftwareSim crap for me

Soundlurker

Nov 19, 2005
Since I started playing and recording I've always had to record small solid-state combos or use software sims. I'm happy to say these days are over, as I've just received my handbuilt and custom-designed tube amp. I think it looks great, and what's more important, it sounds great! And I've only had the chance to record direct and use impulses, because I'm still waiting for my first cab
(Framus 4x12 v30s).

The amp has an integrated TS boost that you can bypass, and 2 channels:
Clean (can also be switched to crunch) and Lead (which has a modern and a vintage version), both channels have a 'bright' switch. With the footswitch you can switch between the two channels, and turn on/off the fx loop and the TS boost.
Power tubes are electro-harmonix 6l6EH, I don't know about the preamp ones.

Here are some quick samples I made using the amp and Guitarhack's impulses:
Modern - 2 tracks

Vintage - 2 tracks

Modern+Vintage - 4 tracks

rough mix of the above + drums

And here are the photos:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

:headbang:

Thanks guys! :headbang:

I still have all of my body parts:heh: It was expensive (for me, anyway) but the price/quality ratio is just unbelievably good!

Yeah but they are well worth it :) After all its an amp designed for you! hehe, where do you guys go to get such lovely custom amps guitars :p IO guess you dont have to be well known to get a singature amp/guitar just have the money! :)

It's definity worth giving more money for having to make less compromises.

Yeah, you don't have to be well-known in order to have a custom amp (though it helps ;) ) and I think that it's more down to knowing people who build this kind of things.

Damn, I love those blue and yellow lights for the power and standby :loco: