My petition for changes to the forum

Metaltastic

Feb 20, 2005
To quote Shadow Walker:

345345 subforums and heavy moderation would suck hard.
Just break the Rate my mix/tone into these or similar three and be done with it:
Rate my Mix
Rate my Song
Tone Tests

Out of all the suggestions in the bitching thread, I thought this one was the best, so I just wanted to put it in its own thread and hopefully get some approval/support so it can happen!

Oh, and this I wanted to mention too:

I am a hobbyist. So I will have to lay down a few tracks, go to the "hobbyist" part of the forum, post my mix, check in a few days, see it has 2 replies with hundreds of looks, and those 2 replies are from other hobbyists just like myself saying, sounds good dude, but I cant say much as I am only a hobbyist to. While the people that are actually great at what they are doing are hanging in the "Pro" section. Hhhmmm. So I decide I cant get enough info that I need to go forward, so I step up and post in the Pro section, and then I would be told to go and post in the Hobbyist section. Clusterfuck and confusing!:heh:

Yup, I too worry about this, I'm definitely a hobbyist in attitude but to me that only means I have zero desire to do this professionally, I still want my stuff to sound as good as possible, so the input of pros is much appreciated!

Basically though, I just wanted to start this thread to try to organize ideas for positive changes, now that everyone (hopefully) got all the bitching out of the way! ;)

Yeah, I'd be down with that, as long as they pretty much kept it to moving threads, and were very sparing with deletion/banning! (for example, I think it's too much to want mods to just strike down and delete any thread remotely deemed n00b)

Yeah that wouldn't be acceptable, but within reason, least we know there would be a quick and easy way to get rid of any persistant frog faces.