n00b Recording Setup

Virgil.

¯\(°_o)/¯
Jul 12, 2005
Seattle, WA
I am pretty new to recording... that being said, I would like to get some feedback (and i'm sure other n00bs would appreciate too) on equipment needed to get started. I'm working with about a 1k budget to get started. So far I have the following for recording:

SM57 Mic
1.2 GHZ PC - Running Windows XP (not mac :Smug: - not yet at least)

I had an TASCAM Analog 4-track for a few years--just recently destroyed :headbang:

Is there anything in particular I should get to get started? I was thinking about buying the DELUXE edition of the mBox (breakout box) package. I believe it comes with CuBase software. Thanks!

Here's where it kind of all starts... Before we all start spewing about budget gear, what are you gonna record?

If you need to cover a lot of ground (live drums, guitar, bass, synth, vocals), you'll have to spread your rescources more than if you were just going to focus on say... guitar and programmed drums.

black sugar said:
Here's where it kind of all starts... Before we all start spewing about budget gear, what are you gonna record?

If you need to cover a lot of ground (live drums, guitar, bass, synth, vocals), you'll have to spread your rescources more than if you were just going to focus on say... guitar and programmed drums.

Well, I am going to be Micing my cab. I'm probably going to extend my budget just a little to get a PodXT Live for the guitars. I'm not recording vocals at this point. I have a Drum Machine that has a direct digital/midi out. In short, I am going to be layering guitars on top of guitars. I just want a basic setup to get started recording Drums, Bass, Guitar... and then once I get a vocalist, to add vocals.

I would go for an M-Audio Interface.
If your budget is very low take a Delta 44, 66 or even a Delta 1010lt are very good!

www.m-audio.com

And if you don't have already, get more RAM at least 512 (the more the better)