NEED URGENT ADVICE! how much?

rispsira

Mar 18, 2010
Hi guys!
I just got a job to write and record guitar parts for someone on their album and need to get back to them soon. What the guy wants basically is solos as well as guitar parts on his songs.

First time i work as a sessionist and would like some advice as to what a fair price should be for that type of service per song? and what about if i help with the whole album, same thing price wise?

Not sure what additionnal info i should give you if needed please tell me.

I dont want to ask for too low of a price because my band takes all my time, but at the same time i want to be fair; im a musician not a business man so i am looking for an honest/fair price.

Thanks a lot!

Oh by the way this isnt a label or known artist if that makes any difference.

Oh one more thing i took the liberty of working on a first song with my keyboardist because we thought it needed some additional parts. In the end these are his songs so he will decide but he DID tell me to go ahead if i had any ideas on how to better the songs.

In case he wants that, then i will share the money with my keyboardist.

ON topic, how many songs are you writing for? if it's an album complete, you might want to start counting the project hours it will take on your end. Or do a fixed rate per song.

Variables are if you're recording with your own gear, or DI'ing . the harder you work, the more you deserve to be paid.

To bro or not to bro. Ten bucks a song sound decent? If you're not taking the time to amp and track everything yourself? in which case, nudge up the price a bit. I'd think that was pretty decent, inexpensive on the artist.

thanks for the answer RedDog.

You said ban that guy? just like more details why? if theres something i am not getting at all id rather learn about it then be banned? haha