Recording Black Metal - Need Advice

MKS

May 24, 2005
I just recently started recording some my friends music. I decided to do a some freebies at first to get accustomed to the gear. My first client was a black metal artist. Admittedly, I have zero experience with Black Metal. Truth be told, I thought it would be easy (not really). Simply record a few guitar tracks, setup a decent vocal mic and have him yell his head off.

Programming the drum parts was fairly easy. He plays to an Alesis SR16 drum machines. The song was all one tempo and limited fills. Instead of going through the steps to record the midi data, I decided to write the parts myself and use DFHS for the drums.

He played his parts with very errors but all the guitars parts we "high" register. I recorded his tone dry so I could reamp later. It's hard to get a full guitars sound when the guitar parts don't ever utilize the lower registers. Nor does he ever let chords ring out and as I already knew, breakdowns are like praising Jesus in Black Metal. You just don't do it.

Here's a rough recording:
http://www.mksstudios.com/cold2.mp3

The drums are not bounced yet and the distortion is all through amplitube 1. I plan to reamp them tomorrow either through Vetta II or Mesa Road King. I know the recording sucks compared everything else posted here but I would still like some advice. I just don't have a grasp on black metal and what the finished product should sound like. Even if I did, I don't know how to do it.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

For what it is it doesn't sound that bad at all.
Not really digging the snare though personally and the constant cymbal at the end is kind of annoying.
It will probably sound a little better once you add some bass in there though.

If you don't listen to black metal I suggest downloading a few albums to listen to.

SPLASTiK said:
For what it is it doesn't sound that bad at all.