new HARDCORE mix, please give me some feedback!

dankarghh

Nov 26, 2009
Australia
hey guys, i posted a tune by the same band a few weeks ago. this is another song we did but i spent a little more time on mixing this time round. i'm still fairly new to this all. as they are only rough demos, guitars are lepous legoin recorded with a blackjack atx, drums are real and replaced. snare is a mixture of my own sample and slate. vocals were done with a nt1a. i threw on ozone just to increase the volume, i have no idea how to master, the band asked me too.

Let me know how it's sounding on your end. I'm keen to learn and get better.

we will be doing an ep really soon, with real amps! my first time.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3200729/staystrongmix.mp3

edit: everything was tracked in a rush so its a bit sloppy, i mixed on computer speakers as usual, gunna get me some krk g25's real soon though!

Snare is too uniform in my opinion. in the breakdown, the guitars are a little off. work on timing them up a little, mainly on parts that are choppy. get some headphones or external speakers and place them a bit farther apart and you should hear it. That can be fixed in editing no problem though. Not too bad

thanks guys, not digging the snare hey, i'll work on it. drums are super quantized, everythings pretty well dead on. guitar and especially bass were tracked realllly badly. they've been quantized a fair bit to get them sounding okay. i was real tired and slack when we tracked and it was my first project, i'll have to be alot more strict in future. what about the mix as a whole? empty? thin? if so, any hot tips!?

I fucking love it........but then I fucking love hardcore, this tracks great I'm hearing aggy front meets subzero in it a lot your vocalist has a good hint of merret in there sounds mint, to me hardcore's not meant to be super polished its raw, aggressive and real music stick at it this sounds great